Walk-ability: Good neighborhoods have lots of intersections | Grist

“A new study on Travel and the Built Environment by planning scholars Reid Ewing and Robert Cervero finds that “intersection density” is the single most important measurement for understanding what keeps folks out of cars.

via Good neighborhoods have lots of intersections | Grist.”

I disagree.   Culture is the “most important measurement for understanding what keeps folks out of cars.”  Some anecdotal evidence: I am working in downtown Raleigh this summer – the State Government Complex to be specific.  This is the most dense and theoretically walkable area in the city.   The other day, I walked from the Archdale Building to the Department of Administration.  They are 2.5 blocks apart – 1800ft – 7 minutes at a casual pace.  The woman I was there to see asked if I had trouble finding a parking space.  I said I walked from the Archdale.  She was shocked.  “Wow, thats a long walk!”  She would never think of walking that far.  Strange given that walking a circle around the inside perimeter and out to the center of the parking lot of the Walmart near my house (1725 New Hope Church Road) is 2000ft.

Tragic.

