City of Raleigh | Landscape Architect Is Raleigh’s Employee Of The Year

Shawsheen BakerThe City of Raleigh recently named Shawsheen Baker its 2009 Citywide Employee of the Year.

A landscape architect with the City of Raleigh’s Parks and Recreation Department, Mrs. Baker is a project manager overseeing the design and development of new parks throughout Raleigh.

The award came as a surprise to Mrs. Baker, but not to her fellow Parks employees. Parks and Recreation Director Diane Sauer said that the award couldn’t have gone to a more deserving employee.

“Shawsheen is truly an outstanding employee,” she said. “I am thrilled that she was named Employee of the Year. She not only has the technical skill and professional expertise to excel at her job, but she is a remarkably talented, creative and enthusiastic member of our team. We’re very fortunate to have her with the City of Raleigh.”

As the winner, Mrs. Baker received $750 and a plaque in recognition of her achievement. Mrs. Baker said the best part of her job was the variety that comes with the day-to-day duties of a project manager.

“I could be working on a 3,000 square-foot playground or a 20,000 square-foot community center. That keeps things exciting, challenging and interesting. That makes the award that much more gratifying. I was stunned when I found out about that I had won. I have only been here for a little over three years and figured you would need to be here for decades just to be nominated. It’s a great honor and I’m very thankful of my co-workers that they think I deserve it. I’ve told them many times that I enjoy my job tremendously and think I am the happiest landscape architect anywhere.”

via City of Raleigh | Landscape Architect Is Raleigh’s Employee Of The Year.

