Washington Monument Ideas Competition

Contact: Ellen Goldstein 202-253-5694 or James Clark 703-524-6616
National Ideas Competition for the Washington Monument Grounds

Distinguished Jury Announced for Washington Monument Grounds Ideas Competition
Registration open until October 31st

October 5, 2010 Washington DC  — Competition Chair James P. Clark, AIA, President-Elect of the Virginia Society of the American Institute of Architects, has announced the formation of a distinguished jury for the National Ideas Competition for the Washington Monument Grounds.

“This panel of individuals represents all the many facets we believe the Competition touches—architecture, design, history, commemoration, urban ecology, civic involvement, and even theater,” Clark says.

Dr. David Hackett Fischer
is the Pulitzer Prize winning author of Washington Crossing the Potomac and Earl Warren Professor of History at Brandeis University.

Raymond Gastil, AICP, is former Director of the Van Alen Institute and Director of Gastilworks Planning and Design, a firm with a focus on interdisciplinary approaches of architecture and landscape architecture to public space.

Sara Douglas Hart, a New York based design journalist and curator, has written extensively about building technology and innovation.  She curated the exhibition Innovate:Integrate on view through January 15, 2011 at the AIA New York Center for Architecture.

Dr. Mitchell Joachim, an Associate Professor at New York University, is co-founder of Terreform ONE + Terrefuge, a leader in innovative ecological design and urbanism with a focus on adapting physical and social ecological principles to architecture.  In 2008 he was named as WIRED magazine’s Smart List of “15 people the next president should listen to.”

Dr. Kirk Savage is Chair of History of Art and Architecture at the University of Pittsburgh, and recipient of the Smithsonian’s Charles C. Eldredge Prize for Distinguished Scholarship in American Art for his book Monument Wars: Washington DC, the National Mall, and the Transformation of the Memorial Landscape.

Joy Zinoman is the innovative artistic founder/director and now Director Emeritus of The Studio Theater in Washington DC, which received 225 Helen Hayes Award nominations during her leadership. Her vision also helped transform an urban neighborhood in the heart of the Nation’s Capital
The Washington Monument (WAMO) Competition invites Americans of all ages and experience levels to submit creative ideas for making the area around the Monument, at the center of the National Mall, more welcoming, educational, and effectively used by the public.  The Competition will spark greater public interest and lively debate about the present day use of this symbolic landscape in the civic life of our democracy.

The Competition is sponsored by an independent group of university professors, architects, designers, and civic leaders partnering with The George Washington University and other educational institutions.

The Competition is open to anyone 12 years of age and older. Participants must register by October 31, 2010.  Entry submission deadline is December 18, 2010.

For more information about the jury and Competition, and to register, visit www.wamocompetition.org.